Dating back to 1864
The Red House history begins in 1864. It was built by Samuel Hurst Seager in 1900 as an addition to the original brick building on the site. It is now one of the few remaining Category One Heritage buildings in Christchurch after the 2011 February earthquakes.
We were fortunate to purchase the building in 2012, after losing our previous Heritage building, in Lyttelton, to the same natural distaser.
Our restoration has been a five year labour of love.
We welcome guests to share the history of this iconic Christchurch building by booking a stay in the guest wing.
Read in depth history of the property here.